National Standards for Volunteer Involvement

Framework for best practice in volunteer management


Australia has adopted National Standards for Volunteer Involvement. These standards provide a framework for organisations to consider the role of volunteers within the organisation and the impact effective volunteer involvement can have on achieving the strategic goals and aims of the organisation.

There are 8 standards addressing the key areas of volunteer involvement:

  1. Leadership and management
  2. Commitment to volunteer involvement
  3. Volunteer roles
  4. Recruitment and selection
  5. Support and development
  6. Workplace safety and well-being
  7. Volunteer recognition
  8. Quality management and continuous improvement

The National Standards have been designed to help organisations:

  • Incorporate the values and maximise the benefits of volunteer involvement
  • Develop effective volunteer involvement strategies and practices
  • Involve volunteers in meaningful and useful activities that contribute to the outcomes of the organisation’s work
  • Ensure the rights of volunteers are protected and that they are supported to carry out their roles and responsibilities.